14 Comments
Jan 24, 2020Liked by Andrew Donlan

I always thought Willie Harris on the Sox was some stud that always stole 20+ bags a season and was an everyday outfielder. I remember being at Sox Fest one year Nick and I went up on stage and he gave us a lesson on how to steal bases....which explains why we were such a threat on the base paths all of high school.

Anyway, I just looked up his stats and turns out he was just some shitty utility player that never did anything while he was on the Sox. His best year was 04 when he played 129 games and he stole 19 bases. I still will always love Willie Harris but he truly was a nobody.

Expand full comment
author

Dude, Willie Harris! His baseball reference just devastated me. This is an absolute gem.

Expand full comment
Jan 24, 2020Liked by Andrew Donlan

Willie Harris! I would've guessed he stole at least 50 bags a season if you didn't double check.

Expand full comment
Jan 24, 2020Liked by Andrew Donlan

The Corey Patterson mention is awesome, I still remember that injury very vividly, 17 years later. I was 8 years old. It was right before all-star break, and I was obsessed with him. I was spending a couple weeks in Wisconsin at my Grandma's lake house with limited Internet access. The news of his injury broke right after he made the "final voting" list for the all star game, essentially the 5 people nominated to fill in one more All Star spot for the National League. Despite him not being able to play, it was so important to me that he get voted in for some reason. I had my mom drive me to the local library everyday during the voting period so I could get on a computer and vote. (Fucking Geoff Jenkins won the final vote).

My memory hero will be foreign to some, but his name is Vedran Vukusic. Growing up near Evanston, I went to a lot of Northwestern basketball games. He was on their team from 2001-2005 and I thought he was an absolute shoe-in for the NBA. He averaged like 17 points per game and I'm not sure Bill Carmody ever had a winning record with him there, but I felt like I was watching Zion Williamson. My friend and I got his autograph on our game tickets and I was shaking how excited I was. Just looked and he played 5 years in Croatia and averaged 7.3 points per game. Wonder how much I can sell that autograph for.

Expand full comment
author

hahahah Vedran Vukusic. I gotta find this guy.

Your mom must've hated you, dude.

Expand full comment
Jan 24, 2020Liked by Andrew Donlan

I thought Denzel Valentine was going to come into the league and make some impact. For some reason I was obsessed with him at MSU. Idk if anyone else had expectations for this guy like I did but whatever. Kevin white also is the worst. I’m not sold on Leonard Floyd. Thought his speed on the outside and ability to cover would make him a huge asset. Also, Neil Funk said that Jim Boylen thinks Luke Kornet is similar to Robert Horry. Stacey King heard this and reacted hilariously. I hate Chicago sports but damn do I love them.

Expand full comment
author

This is one thing I absolutely hate to admit. But after the Draymond 4-year MSU thing, I really didn't hate that pick at all at the time.

Kevin White was one of Pace's worst misses because of his injuries. The dude had unrepairable leg issues and I guess the Bears just didn't look into that?

Expand full comment
Jan 24, 2020Liked by Andrew Donlan

My dad is still beat up about Corey Patterson so that one resonates nicely. He also told me for about 6 straight years that Felix Pie was going to resurrect the Cubs. As a kid, I have no idea why, I LOVED Jose Macias. I saw him drop a bunt down the line against the Marlins once when I was probably 8 years old and loved the guy. When the neighborhood guys and I would play wiffle ball and every one would pick who they were for the game, most people were choosing to be guys like Vlad and A-Rod, I was choosing to be the Cubs utility man coming off the bench. After the 2004 season with the Cubs he ended up playing in Japan and bouncing around the minors for a while. To this day I still have a place in my heart for him.

Expand full comment
Jan 24, 2020Liked by Andrew Donlan

thats what its all about big Z!

Expand full comment
author

Now that's what we call a Chicago sports lifer!

Expand full comment
Jan 24, 2020Liked by Andrew Donlan

I'm gonna have to go with Gabe Carimi for this one. Growing up a Badgers fan I watched this guy man handle opponents on Saturday and figured he would be a perennial pro bowler with some all pro appearances sprinkled in there. His tenure with the bears was short lived and underwhelming. I still dont understand how he was such a bum considering his size and how rarely an O linemen from Wisconsin doesnt pan out in the league. I Wonder what he's up to these days.

Expand full comment
Jan 24, 2020Liked by Andrew Donlan

Outland Trophy award winner!

Expand full comment
author

I just don't understand it. If he gets drafted anywhere else I bet he's a perennial pro-bowler.

Expand full comment

Gordon Beckham- End of story!!!!

Expand full comment