17 Comments
author

A side note—If I'm a general manager, part of my job is exploiting desperate teams in the league. Someone could get away with highway robbery right now on us and we wouldn't bat an eye.

Expand full comment
Oct 22, 2019Liked by Andrew Donlan

I’m all in for everyone except Mariota and cam Newton. Mariota couldn’t even win the starting job against a guy who got traded from possibly the worst team in nfl history. Could you imagine having to look at Cam Newtons stupid clothes every Sunday? That guys a jackass, plain and simple. Can we wait until week 11 for nick Foles to return? The way things are going the packers will have the division locked up by then.

Expand full comment
Oct 22, 2019Liked by Andrew Donlan

Foles. Adam Weber, who works in my office, was Rosen's QB Coach at UCLA. He says he has no heart and is a weird dude. Kinda like Cutler without as much talent. Has that "I don't give a F--k!" attitude.

Expand full comment
author

At least he can read. I mean, read a defense.

Expand full comment
Oct 22, 2019Liked by Andrew Donlan

I would like to have Alex Smith or Nick Foles but anyone besides those two would be a bad. I get our window is now but a bad short-term move now could put us in an even worse hole that pace is seemingly digging right now by trading our future away. He loves to throw around draft picks but if it comes to trading for any other QB (besides getting one of those two) I would rather take are chances in whats looking to be a solid quarterback draft class.

Expand full comment
author

No chance the Bears would have to give up a second rounder for Rosen. But I hear you on Pace slanging around any more draft picks.

Expand full comment

Peter, we dont have a first round pick this year. We wouldnt have to give up much for Rosen, why not give it the old college try.

Expand full comment

I dont think rosen is very good and I dont think he is worth spending a second rounder on or any package of picks. I know we dont have a first but there arent a lot of teams this year that will draft qb’s in the first round. I feel like we have better chances drafting a qb, in a sneaky 2020 class for qb’s then trading for rosen and him not working out either.

Expand full comment
Oct 22, 2019Liked by Andrew Donlan

When talking “franchise” I think Rosen has the highest ceiling and would be cheapest option. Fact check me on this but I think they’ll have the least amount of money to play with as of next year. That being said, i think foles would be the best short term option with the defense we have in place. I got a gut feeling Pace is gonna try to get too creative with this and somehow pay Mitch through 2025

Expand full comment
author

So who is it?

Expand full comment

Rosen can sling that bih!

Expand full comment
Oct 22, 2019Liked by Andrew Donlan

I think Foles is the best option, but coming in week 11 might be a day late and a dollar short for this season. I’d be shocked if we went to the draft to get a QB. I don’t think we have time to wait around and develop a new QB with the defense we have right now. Trading for someone far better than Mitch is the only option.

Expand full comment

As a side note, admitting that Trubisky is not the answer means Pace has to go, right? When he made the pick everyone said, "If he doesn't pan out it's all on Pace".

Expand full comment

Just like a good ship captain, he goes down with the wreck!!!!

Expand full comment

My wish list:

1) Romo

2) Tebow

3) Graham Harrell

4) Ronnie Brown (Wildcat)

5) Cutler

6) Foles

7) Rosen

Expand full comment
author

I would respect the Bears so much if they just brought Tim Tebow in and ran the triple option every play

Expand full comment

Thank God you are not involved.

Expand full comment