9 Comments
Feb 3, 2020Liked by Andrew Donlan

My son(he is from Chicago) made the game saving tackle at the one yard line on the last play of the game to complete a 14 tackle game and defeat UMASS for Miami Ohio. After drinking 30 beers and retiring to my crappy Oxford Hotel room at 3 in the morning, I turned on ESPN and got to watch that highlight!

Expand full comment
author

Saw that with @jackc and @jacobw after a long night of dranking as well

Expand full comment
Feb 3, 2020Liked by Andrew Donlan

Cubs getting Nomar in 2004 at the Trade Deadline. My 9 year-old self strapped in for what was sure to be a true dynasty.

Expand full comment
author

He only played 105 games in a Cubs uniform. Feels like it was a lot longer than that.

Expand full comment
Feb 3, 2020Liked by Andrew Donlan

Game 1 of the 2011 eastern conference finals when the Bulls walloped the Heat and Taj Gibson threw it down Dwayne Wades throat. Bulls basketball was at its peak after that game, then they went on to lose four straight.

Expand full comment
author

This is for sure up there for me. They also should not have lost four straight after that. Total BS.

Expand full comment
Feb 3, 2020Liked by Andrew Donlan

jobbed.

Expand full comment
Feb 3, 2020Liked by Andrew Donlan

This was tough I was shocked how hard it was for me to lock down a single Chicago sports memory. I spend so much time bitching about Chicago sports that I haven't appreciated the few good times.

But I think mine has to be the Cubs win over the Pirates in the wild card game in 2015. If I were to narrow it down to a single play it would have to be Schwarber's bomb or the benches clearing fight with Arrieta staring down whoever that bum of a pitcher was like the beast he is. Knew we had them on the ropes when that happened and they were frustrated. That win was the best I have ever felt as a Cubs fan. So much hope for the future it was beautiful.

Expand full comment
author

Probably my fav Cubs win ever as well.

Expand full comment